One of the exciting events of this week was that I received a lovely letter from the FCPS school boardthat terminates my contract, effective July 1st. 

This does, of course, bring up so many questions.  Not that we haven’t been thinking about them all along, ever since we heard that their announcement that they can no longer be our fiscal agent, but now it’s time to make some more definite plans.  Hopefully, when the new fiscal agent is announced by the state, I can apply for an instructional position and be hired to do what I’m doing now, basically.  The challenge is that the salary is almost definitely going to have to change, as FCPS was very generous in covering the maintenance of our building and other expenses that will now fall solely on the new fiscal agent.  We shall see.

I’m grateful to be in possession of that letter, though I know many of my colleagues were very devastated to have received one.  There’s something about being out of Limbo that provides me with relief and satisfaction- and reduced anxiety. 

So- what will I do now?  School full-time again, and finish the degree and certification?  Find another full-time job?  Work part-time or temporary jobs for awhile?  Stay home and work on the house?  Time will tell.  B and I are negotiating the maze of options and trying to figure out which would be the best option for us and our new baby.  While there are certainly many suggestions that you can probably offer, I can say this: I will not go work for the state as a full-time employee.  I will probably not apply for teaching jobs for the fall, though I might for the second half of the school year.  With the letter, I can file for unemployment- but I need to research the rules further. 

I am confident that we will make a way and that God has a plan for us. 

Thank goodness for His promise in Jeremiah 29:11!

